Pauline Lyrics
of Songs on Blog and more… or How to Learn Languages The Pleasant Way

My Country Tis of Thee

by Aretha Franklin

 

Lyrics

My country,’ tis of thee
Sweet land of liberty, of thee I sing
Land where my fathers died
Land of the pilgrims’ pride
From every mountainside let freedom ring

My native country, thee
Land of the noble free, thy name I love
I love thy rocks and rills
Thy woods and templed hills
My heart with rapture thrills, like that above

Let music swell the breeze
And ring from all the trees sweet freedom’s song
Let mortal tongues awake
Let all that breathe partake
Let rocks their silence break, the sound prolong

Our fathers’ God, to thee
Author of liberty, to thee we sing
Long may our land be bright
With freedom’s holy light
Protect us by thy might, great God, our King

folkmusic.about.com

 

No Responses to “My Country Tis of Thee”

Leave a Reply

